NICNAS Industry Government Consultative Committee (IGCC) meeting at Parliament House, Canberra , 29 November 2005

Standing (L to R): Mr Michael Catchpole (PACIA), Mr Nick Miller (NICNAS Secretariat), Ms Sylvia Kidziak AM (ACCI), Mr Shane Baker (DITR), Ms Bronwyn Capanna (ACCORD), Mr Lyn Hansen (DITR), Mr Nick Munafo (PACIA), Mr Michael Hambrook (APMF), Dr Wafa El-Adhami (OCS), Mr Lee Eeles (DEH), Mr Geoff MacAlpine (ACCORD), Ms Mary Harwood (DEH) and Dr Martin Merrett (DEWR). Seated (L to R): Hon Christopher Pyne MP (Parliamentary Secretary to the Minister for Health and Ageing ), Dr Margaret Hartley (Director, NICNAS).

Appointed by the Minister, the IGCC oversees the efficient and effective utilisation of NICNAS resources and the Scheme’s operational performance. IGCC membership, terms of reference and meeting details for 2005-06 are at Appendix 04.

The IGCC met three times during 2005-06 with the focus of activities on the implementation of key reform initiatives and compliance programs, detailed in the Operational Performance section of this report. The Committee also determined the level of NICNAS fees and charges for 2006-07 and endorsed the NICNAS Operational Plan 2006-07 and NICNAS 2006-07 Budget (including overseas travel) for consideration by the Parliamentary Secretary.

Other key outcomes from the IGCC meetings in 2005-06 were:

o acknowledgement by members of the growing importance of the safety regulation of nanomaterials

o ongoing updates on key activities from members, and

o the sustained high-level of performance as noted in quarterly performance reports for NICNAS, where overall performance targets were reported to have been met or exceeded.

IGCC members evaluated the efficiency and performance of the IGCC process and feedback indicated that papers were uniformly well prepared and received on time, and that the meetings were effective and productive.