Regulatory action regarding several chemicals listed in Annex III of the Rotterdam Convention on the Prior Informed Consent (PIC) Procedure for Certain Hazardous Chemicals and Pesticides in International Trade was undertaken in 2005-06, after consultation with state, territory, and Commonwealth governments and industry. Two of these chemicals were the flame retardants octabromobiphenyl and decabromobiphenyl, which were declared PECs in July 2004.

In the 12-month period following declaration, no applications were received for the assessment, indicating that the chemicals are not manufactured in Australia or imported. Therefore in 2005-06 the chemicals were removed from the Australian Inventory of Chemical Substances (AICS) under section 63 of the Act.

In addition, Industrial Chemicals (Notification and Assessment) Amendment Regulations 2005 (No.2) was introduced. The regulations, effective from 17 November 2005, prohibit the introduction (ie. importation or manufacture) of octabromobiphenyl or decabromobiphenyl without the prior written permission of the Director, NICNAS.

The Industrial Chemicals (Notification and Assessment) Amendment Regulations 2005 (No.2), also prohibit the introduction and export of tetramethyl lead, and the export of tetraethyl lead without the written permission of the Director NICNAS. The regulations informed Australia ís importing country responses under the Rotterdam Convention for all four chemicals, prepared by NICNAS and forwarded to DEH, the Australian Designated National Authority in 2005-06.