A statutory scheme located within the Australian Government Department of Health and Ageing (DoHA), NICNAS provides for an ongoing, consistent approach to the protection of human health and the environment from the effects of industrial chemicals. NICNAS is part of the Therapeutic Goods Administration (TGA) Group of Regulators. It was previously located within the Office of Chemical Safety (OCS), however during 2006-07 steps were taken to formally separate NICNAS from OCS.


Figure 1 provides an overview of the team-based organisational structure of NICNAS. The Director is a statutory office holder with specific functions and powers under the Act. In the exercise of these functions, the Director is directly responsible to the Minister for Health and Ageing through the Parliamentary Secretary to the Minister.


NICNAS is structurally organised into three streams, two of which undertake activities under the Act, namely chemical assessments and regulatory activity (including compliance). The business management and communication stream supports these two streams.


NICNASís skill base is diverse with a high proportion of staff holding professional qualifications. Approximately 60 per cent of NICNAS staff have scientific qualifications, reflecting the major focus on assessment of the impact of industrial chemicals on human health and the environment.


Three non-statutory committees made up of experts provide governance advice to NICNAS: the Community Engagement Forum (CEF), Industry Government Consultative Committee (IGCC) and the States and Territories Memorandum of Understanding (MOU) Group. See Management and accountability for additional information about these groups.


Figure 1: NICNAS organisational chart



Senator the Hon Brett Mason Parliamentary Secretary to MINISTER FOR HEALTH AND AGEING











Leader: Science Strategy


Leader: Regulatory Strategy

Roshini Jayewardene



Leader: Business Strategy and Communication

Nick Miller













Marion Sinclair


1.Community Engagement Forum

2.Industry Government Consultative Committee

3.States and Territories Memorandum of Understanding Group